In search of innovation

The Ignatian Educator

“Given the near consensus on the vital importance of innovation in today’s economy, I decided to explore the question of how you educate young people to become innovators. What are the capacities that matter most for innovation, and how are they best taught?”

— Tony Wagner, from Creating Innovators: The Making of Young People Who Will Change the World

A few days ago I wrote here about a New York Times review of the book above. It was a column by Thomas Friedman, and the review both intrigued and irritated me. Intrigued me because I get it: we need innovation. The world is changing. New skills are essential. But the review irritated me as well, mainly because I’m a guy who feels at home in the traditional. I love nothing more than a good book, a cup of coffee, and a few thoughtful people with whom to share insights. The…

View original post 204 more words

Leave a Reply

