What makes a good black and white photo?

Dan Jurak's Alberta Landscape Photo Blog

infrared, black and white, landscape, Alberta, Dan Jurak, fineart, fine art, summer, prairie,

When I was FORCED to shoot black and white for most of my first year in photography school I really did not like it at all. Until my first day on campus everything that I had taken was in color. I saw in color. I composed with color. It was all about the color as far as I was concerned.

During our first year everyone was taught with the assumption that each student knew absolutely nothing about photography and that was probably a good thing. Everyone of different abilities had to re-learn what they thought they knew about photography.

Even with all of us receiving the same instruction and having the very same assignments our work was different from one person to the next. We all interpreted and executed the same assignment differently. So, when you ask someone what a good black and white is you will probably get as…

View original post 538 more words

Leave a Reply

