Marine Debris Illustration: I’m Not A Plastic Bag, A Graphic Novel

The Science of Illustration

IMG_0858

In addition to my own illustrations I thought I would write about some of the inventive ways science is communicated through art. I will primarily write about science graphic novels and other book formats but at some point I might highlight other “SciArt” endeavors. For those of you who are unaware of graphic novels, they are basically stories told through illustrations that run longer than your average comic book. Graphic novels explore different facets of life (or fantasy) and can be fictional, autobiographical, historical, scientific, etc… See the Graphic Novel Wikipedia page: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Graphic_novel

For my inaugural book post I chose “I’m Not A Plastic Bag, A Graphic Novel” by Rachel Hope Allison, forward by Jeff Corwin, and published by Archaia. The almost textless book revolves around the expanding marine garbage patches that can now be found around the world and one particular garbage patch. This particular patch is an actual living entity…

View original post 88 more words

Leave a Reply

